You are here

About the Linn County Democratic Central Committee

The LCDCC meets regularly on the 4th Wednesday of each month. Most meetings begin at 7 p.m. and take place at the HIAWATHA COMMUNITY CENTER ( 101 EMMONS, HIAWATHA). For specific details about upcoming meetings, however, we recommend viewing the calendar.

Linn County Executive Board

Those who serve on the Executive Board are elected at the county's biennial meeting. Each elected official has a set of duties.

The smallest geographic subdivision in Iowa’s political structure is the precinct. The key to the Democratic Party’s success in Iowa is our ability to organize at the precinct (i.e., grassroots) level. Organization at the grassroots level works in Iowa because of the efforts of the thousands of people who have made the decision to play a greater role in the political process. They attend their precinct caucuses and offer their leadership as precinct committee persons.

In accordance with the Code of Iowa, Democratic Party precinct committee persons are elected in even-numbered years at precinct caucuses by the Democrats living within each precinct. Precinct committee persons serve on the county central committee, which is the policy-making body of the county party. Their terms of office begin immediately following the county convention and continue for two years. (unless removed for cause or attendence)

The country central committee may remove a precinct committee person for one of the reasons in the Code of Iowa, the Iowa Democratic Party Constitution and/or the county party constitution or bylaws (as long as the latter is not in conflict with the Code of Iowa or the Iowa Democratic Party Constitution and/or Bylaws.)

The county central committee is a legal entity recognized by the Iowa Code. When necessary, duly elected precinct committee members of the central committee are responsible for nominating the Democratic Party candidate in a legislative special election.

All Content Copyright 2014 by the LCDCC,
the Linn County Democratic Party and/or Each Individual Author - All Rights Reserved
Paid for by the Linn County Democratic Central Committee
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee